Thoughts on posting academic work for world-wide inspection…

So I have begun adding some of this semester’s work to my Portfolio Page.  For a long time I had been reluctant to do these sorts of things – posting my work for anyone to access, especially in an easily reproducable format such as PDF.

I can’t tell you exactly why I felt this way, but I think it was likely something along the lines of “This is mine, I don’t want to share.”  But that’s not the wave of the future – sharing is.  Also, I think these sorts of things (sharing your work) produce better work.  If you know that your name is going to be on a piece of work, you end up that much more motivated to produce a quality deliverable.

So – I’m going to continue to post my work, in PDF format, in the hopes that sharing it will spark dialogue, discussion, and perhaps even some pushback from readers.  I’m proud of the work I’ve done, I’ve worked hard to produce it, and will continue to do so.  That said, any input or refinement advice is more than welcome – graduate school is, after all, a process, a journey.  I’m beginning to think there is no destination….

Leave a Reply

